Fall, The: Book Two of the Strain Trilogy

Rating: 
5

The Fall is the second installment in the vampire trilogy by Academy Award winning director Guillermo del Toro and bestselling thriller novelist Chuck Hogan. The two authors had readers on the edge of their seats with the first book in the series, The Strain, and this second book reads with the same spine-tingling suspense mixed with gritty vampire horror as the first.

Breaking from the recent flow of the vampire genre which often casts blood-drinkers as romantically inclined yet tormented soulful heroes, del Toro and Hogan return to the image of vampire as parasitic monster with a nearly insatiable thirst for human blood. In this new trilogy, the vampire population spreads like a virus, threatening world domination and the total subjugation of humanity as an animal food source.

"The Kelly-thing stood poised on the edge of the roof, indifferent to the suffering city all around her. She knew only thirst. A craving, for blood and for her blood kind. This was the frenzy that compelled her; a virus knows only one thing: that it must infect."

The Fall picks up right on the edge of the precipice where The Strain left off, with the entire city of New York threatened by the vampire predators, an example that mirrors itself in other major cities across the world. The Fall focuses on the struggle between the circle of Ancient elitist vampires and the rebellious New World vampires led by an Ancient bent on seizing control.

Our unlikely group of heroes is comprised of Dr. Ephraim Goodweather, his young son Zack, his Center for Disease Control colleague Dr. Nora Martinez, World War Two concentration camp survivor and lifelong vampire hunter Abraham Setrakian, and a resourceful New York exterminator known as Fet. In this second book, the group are joined by a handful of vigilante gang members recruited by a group of Old War vampires to fight the New World strain.

The writing portrays an array of imagery that plays on all the senses. It reads almost like a scene from an action movie and would no doubt translate well onto the big screen if del Toro chooses to make it one of his future film projects. The characters and settings are vivid and life-like, allowing the reader to easily visualize the threatening bleakness of a dark tunnel, the sound of a crashing train, or the stench of a vampire den.

For fans of The Strain, The Fall is an essential follow-up. This trilogy is certainly a must-read for dedicated fans of horror fiction, particularly if the original vampire or zombie monster tales are of intrigue. However, for readers who prefer their vampires young, attractive, and romantic, this might not be the series for you.


-- review by Lisa Damian

 

Comments

Re: Fall, The: Book Two of the Strain Trilogy

As far as I understand it, del Toro first pitched this idea as a trilogy of films.  That didn't go anywhere, so he developed this book series.  I believe it has now been sold to FOX to be developed for television in some way.

Fanged Films

1914

Hungary, 1921
Drakula halála / Dracula's Death

From the Library

As the 20th century evolved, rational man turned to science to explain mythology that had pervaded for thousands of years. How could a man be mistaken for a vampire? How could someone appear to have been the victim of a vampire attack? Science, in time, came back with answers that may surprise you.Anemia
A million fancies strike you when you hear the name: Nosferatu!N O S F E R A T Udoes not die!What do you expect of the first showing of this great work?Aren't you afraid? - Men must die. But legend has it that a vampire, Nosferatu, 'der Untote' (the Undead), lives on men's blood! You want to see a symphony of horror? You may expect more. Be careful. Nosferatu is not just fun, not something to be taken lightly. Once more: beware.- Publicity for Nosferatu in the German magazine Buhne und Film, 1922  

Drawn to Vamps?

Vol. 2 No. 6
The Haunt of the Hyena
Vol. 1 No. 1
I Am Dracula